Created in 1990, the Blue Valley Educational Foundation is a 501(c)(3) organization that supplements student learning through teacher grants and district-wide programs that support educational excellence. The Foundation is a means to empower educators to go beyond the limits of our financial environment, not just occasionally, but continually.​

Mission Statement
Our mission is to enrich educational excellence through community outreach, financial development, and ongoing funding of extraordinary educational programs.

BVEF aspires to be one of the Blue Valley community's most valuable assets:

  • By utilizing the talents and resources of individuals and organizations in our community to assure excellence in public education;
  • By embracing the challenges of our changing world and supporting innovative educational ideas and extraordinary learning opportunities;
  • By developing an organization recognized for its dynamic outstanding leadership and its capacity to unite our community.

We believe in...

  • Strengthening our community through high quality public education
  • Challenging our students with outstanding educational opportunities
  • Promoting community involvement and partnerships among students, patrons, faculty & staff, seniors and businesses
  • Supporting district efforts in providing both basic and extraordinary educational opportunities
  • Fostering innovation in Blue Valley education
  • Nurturing individual growth through life long learning


Blue Valley Educational Foundation 2016-17 Board of Directors
President: Shannon Cates, Shawnee Mission Health
President Elect: Carol Sherman, Community Volunteer
Treasurer: Kelly Jernigan, Commerce Trust Company​
Secretary: Dr. Mike Slagle, BVSD Deputy Superintendent​

Board Members
Julie Brewer, United Community Services of Johnson County
Darren Dupriest, Validity Screening Solutions
Mark Evans, H & R Block
Ron Gier, Sprint
Samantha Hammontree, The Gerson Companies
Katherine Howell, St. Luke's Health System
Amy Kennedy, Community Volunteer
Jeff Keyes, BMO Harris Bank
Mike Meyer, Meyer Music
Richard Napper, NAR Realty Consulting, LLC
Matt Sheets, First National Bank
Mandy Shoemaker, Prairie Elder Homes, LLC
Kristin Stoneman, DLR Group
Stann Tate, Menorah Medical Center
Erik Winkler, Commerce Bank
Brad Yeretsky, Stinson Leonard Street LLP​​

Ex-Officio Members​​
Superintendent: Dr. Todd White
Blue Valley NEA President: Debra Hotujac
Board of Education Liaisons: Cindy Bowling, Stacy Obringer-Varhall, Mike Seitz


Each school and several programs have a staff member (Faculty Fellow) and parent (School Liaison) who meet periodically with BVEF and are knowledgeable about BVEF grants and events, payroll donation, and the Sunflower Ambassador Program.

High Schools
Blue Valley High - Mark Mosier (Faculty Fellow), Amy Bock (School Liaison)
Blue Valley North - Maria Worthington (Faculty Fellow), Meggin Emert (School Liaison)
Blue Valley Northwest - Michaelyn Podany (Faculty Fellow), Renee Bartholome (School Liaison)
Blue Valley Southwest - Liz Chopp (Faculty Fellow), Sanam Bezanson (School Liaison)
Blue Valley West - Amanda Davis (Faculty Fellow), Tanya Cline (School Liaison)

Middle Schools
Aubry Bend Middle - Diana Tate (Faculty Fellow), Jodie Dietz (School Liaison)
Blue Valley Middle - Pam Kissing (Faculty Fellow), Amy Bock (School Liaison)
Harmony Middle - Ronda Hassig (Faculty Fellow), Jennifer Johnson (School Liaison)
Lakewood Middle - Aimee Antilla (Faculty Fellow), Mandy Shoemaker (School Liaison)​
Leawood Middle - Susan Terrill (Faculty Fellow), Julie Houts (School Liaison)
Overland Trail Middle - Tracy Anderson (Faculty Fellow & School Liaison)
Oxford Middle - Deb Wagner (Faculty Fellow), Michelle Tribbey (School Liaison)
Pleasant Ridge Middle - Casey Krouse (Faculty Fellow & School Liaison)
Prairie Star Middle - Lisa Nocita (Faculty Fellow), Stephanie Sale (School Liaison)

Elementary Schools
Blue River Elementary - Jill Hurst (Faculty Fellow), Sheri James (School Liaison)
Cedar Hills Elementary - Steve Marsh (Faculty Fellow), Ashley Elston (School Liaison)
Cottonwood Point Elementary - Brian Mills (Faculty Fellow), Harrison Pittman (School Liaison)
Harmony Elementary - Linda Graves (Faculty Fellow), Katie​​ Poppen (School Liaison)
Heartland Elementary - Cathy Cowans (Faculty Fellow), Laura Taylor (School Liaison)
Indian Valley Elementary - Christy Taylor (Faculty Fellow), Janie Logan-Snider (School Liaison)
Lakewood Elementary - Robin Weinand (Faculty Fellow), Chandra Maraman (School Liaison)
Leawood Elementary - Kendra Schoeman (Faculty Fellow), Maggie Fayard (School Liaison), Monique Faros (School Liaison)
Liberty View Elementary - Leslie Simpson (Faculty Fellow), Jennifer Skaorupan (School Liaison)
Mission Trail Elementary - Kathi Flexman (Faculty Fellow), Julie Houts (School Liaison)
Morse Elementary - Juli Bell (Faculty Fellow), Keith Espelien (School Liaison)
Oak Hill Elementary - Michelle Phifer (Faculty Fellow), Angie Nelson (School Liaison)
Overland Trail Elementary - Kathy Hafford (Faculty Fellow), Elizabeth Tridle (School Liaison)
Prairie Star Elementary - Alison Kavanagh (Faculty Fellow), Julie Browne (School Liaison), Jolene Jeffries (School Liaison)
Stanley Elementary - Denise Thomas (Faculty Fellow), Liz Brewer (School Liaison)
Stilwell Elementary - Julie Kennedy (Faculty Fellow), Jessica Burkhalter (School Liaison)
Sunset Ridge Elementary - Lisa Lowman (Faculty Fellow), Nat Milgram (School Liaison)
Sunrise Point Elementary - Mary Garretson (Faculty Fellow & School Liaison)
Timber Creek Elementary - Pam Bakke (Faculty Fellow), Debbie Haws (School Liaison)
Valley Park Elementary - Heather James (Faculty Fellow), Katie McClaflin-Van Wagner (School Liaison)

Blue Valley Academy - Debra Sayge​ (Faculty Fellow)
Hilltop Learning Center - Kendall Burr (Faculty Fellow), Jennifer Skorupan (School Liaison)​


Blue Valley and Beyond is a group of retired Blue Valley staff members who want to stay connected to the Blue Valley School District. Members receive the Blue Valley Buzz (the district's monthly newsletter) as well as announcements of BVEF events and promotions and the BVEF newsletter. Ideas and suggestions for get-togethers or topics can be sent to Blue Valley and Beyond chair Sherrelyn Smith.​​​​​